Shattered Kingdoms

Where Roleplay and Tactics Collide
VOTE NOW!
It is currently Fri Apr 26, 2024 5:06 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Hard to come back -- disappointed.
PostPosted: Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:08 am 
Mortal

I'm writing this thread for player and staff feedback, though I debated whether I should even spend the time on it.

I haven't played SK for a while, and I had some ideas about coming back with a fresh start. I've played a few characters to around Mentor or so but never made it much further, so I'm still a newbie. Check my forum posts or look up my IP if you have to. Sadly, though, when I tried to come back and get caught up on the MUD news, I decided that it's not worth starting anew. You've lost a player today.

I've played MUDs for over 15 years, with a few favorites and long-standing MUD commitments. I've tried dozens and there are only a few that have stuck with me. Shattered Kingdoms is one of those. From the moment I first tried it, I found the world to be immersive and vibrant. I experimented with a few characters (as I usually do) and played through all of the newbie zones. They all had so much character that drew me in and made me want to play more. I'd never played a MUD before with the sort of starting variety that SK had to encourage roleplay. Things like different languages and kingdoms was a brand-new concept to me.

Now I'm finding that when I wanted to start a new character, everything has changed. Why can't my sprite start in Ayamao? OK, I selected a different home kingdom, but I'm outside of ... some other kingdom? Confusing as could be, I took to the forums. And what I found disgusts me.