Shattered Kingdoms

Where Roleplay and Tactics Collide
VOTE NOW!
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:11 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Advice for a Possibly Returning Player
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2016 6:16 pm 

I used to play this MUD roughly 7+ years ago, and I REALLY enjoyed it, and played for a long time. After my long break, I am now looking for a game to take my attention, so I thought I might play some SK again. So I log in... and see 3 players online. So I check it over the next week, and I do see some great membership in the evening, but overall it is a low playerbase. This turns me off, so I try out Abandoned Realms, Dark and Shattered Lands, WoT, etc. NONE of them fit- they were all missing something that SK has, which is my definition for a MUD and the only MUD I have ever played.

With that said, what can I do? I WANT to play SK, but I have some problems:

1. I play a lot during the day, in EST. I work in IT and downtime can be spent in MUD.
2. I like to adventure- Outlands, Temple, Necropolis, Etc. Death, it is inevitable.

So while I can still play in the evenings, daytime will be when I am most active looking around for things, solving riddles, hunting EQ, etc. When I die, I will have no resurrection unless I wait till one logs on- possibly 5-6 hours after I die. This of course gives people the opportunity to locate my corpse and go find it, etc.

What can I do? Besides the obvious answers of "Dont die" and "Dont play during the day", anyone have advice? Anyone play another MUD that they enjoy with a higher active playerbase during the day?

DSL seems nice, but I leveled up really quick and easy, and there are very few "unique" items like there are in SK. SK to me is like a MMORPG- I am very invested in my character, bwcause it takes a LOT of work to get good. in DSL, I could max level quickly, and it just feels... cheaper.

Any advice is welcomed, and thanks.

Post subject: Re: Advice for a Possibly Returning Player